A personal view of Solution Focused Coaching

joannemilesconsulting

Solution Focused Coaching approaches have had a positive impact on my   skills and led to a shift in mindset about the role of a coach and that’s what I’d like to talk about here.

 I’ve been a teacher, trainer and professional development coach for twenty years. In those roles I’ve coached many people to improve performance and develop skills. On reflection I would say that my early attempts at coaching, focused a great deal on dissecting the problem and offering suggestions. People were often grateful but in many cases took little action afterwards. It was a bit like making a big effort to give a friend advice, only to find they completely ignored you…

At that time I felt that my role was acting as the problem solver and resource bank for advice and ideas. I realise that this was because the role evolved out of other mentoring type…

View original post 578 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

